One of the most surprising foods containing animal byproducts is bananas. Due to a recent study conducted by the American Chemical Society, some bananas are being sprayed with a coating that contains animal parts. The coating is added to bananas to increase their shelf life, but it has been found that some of the sprays use may contain some animal products that prevent them from being vegan.

around the web


  1. this article freaks me out a little bit! bird feathers?! EEK

    • @Alissa Fleck:

      They also use human hair to produce cystein to make breads fluffy.Mostly hair from the asian country because it is less loaded with chemicals..bleaching, colouring and so on.

  2. As a meat eater, I actually appreciate learning that so much of the animal is able to be put to use. This is not to say that I think it’s right to deceive vegans, though.

  3. Bone char from animals? wow…

    • @Ms. Information:

      It would also be possible to use char made from plants/wood..but the industry has to dump their waste somewhere.

      And since it isn´t possible to use all the skeletons for fertilizing/chemical industry matters, you dump it into the food sector by whatever means you can think of.

  4. truth might nothing we eat that we ddid not grow is safe- this is scary and really a bitter sweet truth

  5. for me, being vegan is about embracing a nonviolent lifestyle and working towards ending exploitation and commodification. this blog makes it seem like veganism is about extreme restriction and perfection. there are vegan alternatives to almost everything listed there and they’re not hard to find.

    i was hoping the article would talk about moving beyond obsessiving over byproducts and talk about things like palm oil and chocolate from child slaves.

  6. This article is actually a bit misleading and also condescending to me as someone who lives a meat free lifestyle. I consider myself a vegetarian with vegan tendencies and like many of which I know, we tend to be knowledgable of certain terms that would consider an item not to be vegan; plus we read labels. Also, it is not true that “many” beers contain geletin & egg whites. Some do, but not “many”, which is probably why only one brand name was given. Again, people who have been vegetarian or vegan for years know which brands/companies to stay away from because the labeling clearly states the ingredients and there are also numerous references to confirm what companies/produce remains free of animal products.

Leave a Reply